Why do a rollback?
It is not unusual to have errors on operations that can't be corrected (volumes, for example) or you discover that a vital operation was never entered, an operation was entered in error, etc, and now subsequent operations are preventing you from repairing the product history.
The are two different versions of rollback - Rollback and Rollback & Replay.
Rollback allows you to restore wine, exactly how it was before a selected operation. In cases where later operations affecting the initial wine (the wine as it was before the selected operation) occurred, those operations along with any other affected wines will be reversed.
In short, the feature restores the initial wine and any further affected wines back in time, as if the selected operation never happened.
Rollback & Replay
Rollback & Replay will reverse all operations subsequent to the selected operation/date but unlike the regular Rollback, this moves all the work to a special work order (Replay work order) and puts all the jobs into a pending state, oldest to newest, allowing correction, insertion of a missing operation or deletion of an operation entered in error, while maintaining the operational time line.
How both versions of Rollback work
Both Rollback and Rollback & Replay will find and display all of the operations that are impacted by your selected operation. You must then review the information and confirm whether you are willing to reverse each of the affected operations.
Once you’ve confirmed each of the operations you may continue the Rollback or Rollback & Replay which will then restore the affected wine(s) back to the previous state. With Rollback, you will restore the operational timeline by re-entering each job from scratch. Rollback & Replay allows you fix just the jobs with errors and re-save the rest.
How to rollback operations:
- View the selected operation you wish to rollback.
- Click Rollback.
- Confirm that you acknowledge the reversal of the subsequent operations.
- View a highlighted operation before confirming it.
- Provide the reason why you wish to perform the rollback.
- Once all operations are confirmed you may proceed by clicking “Rollback”.
- For Rollback & Replay, you'll select Rollback & Replay from the last screen; this creates a new replay work order with all jobs in a pending state.
- A Transfer was entered by mistake.
- Tank PT-002 originally had 310 gallons
- A Transfer operation occurred where 60 gal was transferred into 18-0210
- Aim: To restore the 18PN001 to its original state before the transfer occurred as if nothing ever happened.
1. View the operation you wish to rollback.
2. After clicking Rollback, the Rollback form will appear. The form contains information on the selected operation, the wine(s) and volume(s) to be restored and a list of operations that will be reversed.
3.Confirm the reversals of the operations. Rollback will become active once you have confirmed all the operations.
A final message will appear once you’ve provided a reason for the rollback and clicked Rollback. This is the last confirmation before the Rollback goes ahead and reverses all the operations. Ensure the details are correct as the wines will be restored as if nothing ever happened (which can’t be undone).
The reversed operations will be struck through when viewing the History tab with Show reversed checked on.
Rollback & Replay
If, instead of completely reversing the transfer and all subsequent operations, you only need to adjust the gallons that were transferred, a Rollback & Replay allows you to fix up the operation and then re-save the subsequent operations.
Rollback & Replay creates a new Replay work order; usually, the error occurs on Job 1.
The transfer amount should have been 90 instead of the 60 gallons originally entered.
If it didn't automatically open, locate the replay work order.
Click Complete for Job #1; a blue box appears in the upper right corner of the screen. Click on the blue box to clear it.
Make your changes to the Transfer operation; in this case, change the out and in gallons to 90.
Notice that you keep the original date/time stamp; Save.
Assuming that no changes need to be made to the later operations, you may click Complete for each and Save.
Now when you view the refreshed product history with Show reversed, you can see your reversed operations in struck through text, and the newly saved correction(s).
When to contact Support
Depending on the number and complexity of the Rollback or Rollback & Replay, you may be advised that too many critical operations are involved - you will be asked to refer this to vintrace support to start the rollback process for you. Contact us with as much information as you can (batch, vessel, date, work order, operation, etc) that will help us locate the point at which to start the rollback or rollback/replay.
When we have completed the Rollback, we will notify you. If we performed a Rollback & Replay, we will send you the Replay work order #.